Ateneo Musical de Rafelguaraf

Ateneo Musical de Rafelguaraf


The Rafelguaraf Music Association was founded in 1932. Its Symphony Band is currently made up of 82 member musicians and has been directed by the Xàtiva Maestro, Miguel Àngel Grau Martínez, since 1997. The period since his arrival has without doubt been the most spectacular in the Band's history.

They have recorded various CDs of Symphony Music and Festive Music. Among all their artistic activities and achievements over the last decade, the following are worthy of special mention:

  • THIRD PRIZE in the 25th Valencia Provincial Contest, Division Two.
  • FIRST PRIZE in the Bocairent Band Contest.
  • FIRST PRIZE in the Elsa Festive Music Contest.
  • PRIZE FOR THE BEST BAND FROM THE VALENCIA REGION, organized by the management of the Valencia Bullring.
  • FIRST PRIZE in the Bocairent Band Contest.
  • SECOND PRIZE in the Oliva Moors and Christians Music Contest.
  • FIRST PRIZE in the Altea de Vella Festive Music Contest.
  • FIRST PRIZE in the L'Olleria Band Contest.
  • THIRD PRIZE in the 120th International Wind Band Contest "City of Valencia".
  • FIRST PRIZE in the Oliva Moors and Christians Music Contest.
  • FIRST PRIZE in the Alcoy Wind Band Contest.
  • They went on a European tour, giving various concerts in the Austrian cities of Bregenz and Innsbruck.
  • FIRST PRIZE in the Alcoy Wind Band Contest.
  • FIRST PRIZE in the Alcoy Wind Band Contest.
  • SECOND PRIZE in the L'Olleria Wind Band Contest.

In summary, they have won a total of 2 THIRD PRIZES, 2 SECOND PRIZES AND 10 FIRST PRIZES.

This year the Association is busy with events to commemorate its 80TH ANNIVERSARY.


Miguel Ángel Grau Martínez

Miguel Ángel Grau Martínez was born in Xàtiva and began studying Direction with Maestro Julio Juan García. He went on to study Orchestra and Band Direction with Florin Totan (Romania), Jan Cober (Holland), Norbert Nozy (Belgium), Franco Cesarini (Switzerland), and the Spaniards: José Rafael Pascual Vilaplana, Jaime Belda Cantabella, Miquel Rodrigo and Enrique García Asensio.

He attended classes and seminars with the following composers and directors: Robert W. Smith (USA), Jan van der Roost (Holland), Johan de Meij (Holland), Jacob de Haan (Holland), Bert Appermont (Belgium) and Enrique García Asensio.

At the beginning of his career he was Principal Conductor of the Youth Band of the Xátiva "La Nova" Music Association (Valencia) and of the Alcudia de Crespins Music Association (Valencia).

He has been the Principal Conductor of the Rafelguaraf Music Association (Valencia) since 1997. In these fifteen years the Band has won numerous significant prizes: a total of 2 Third Prizes, 2 Second Prizes and 10 First Prizes.

He was Principal Conductor of the Ondara Music Association (Alicante) from 2003 to 2005, winning First Prize in the El Verger Band Contest in 2003 and 2004.

From 2004 to 2007 he was Principal Conductor of the Albaida "L'Aranya" Music Association (Valencia) where he recorded various CDs, including "Ja baixa l'Aranya - Gaudium". In 2006 this CD was nominated for the Euterpe Prize, awarded by the FSMCV. In 2005 the Band won Second Prize in the Alginet National Contest and Second Prize in the 2006 Villena National Contest.

From 2007 to 2011 he was Principal Conductor of the Muro Music Association in Alcoi (Alicante) with which he won First Prize in the 4th Oliva Contest in 2009.

Finally, in 2004 he was one of the six directors in the Valencia Region who were awarded the Euterpe Prize by the FSMCV.

Wiew Our YouTube Channel
Visit Our facebook page
Visit Our twitter
Visit Our flickr gallery
Visit Blog